top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAIUIUA

24 Hours in Uluru


With the shear panic that my second year visa was coming to an end and that I still hadn’t seen the world famous Ayers Rock Uluru, I text one of my best friends and booked a list minute weekend away. 


Not being able to take any time off work and with only the month of December free to travel (aka 40 degree days) a weekend in late October sounded far more desirable. 


So we caught the 10am flight from Sydney on Saturday and would be leaving Uluru lunch time on Sunday. Whilst one more night would be favoured, I knew we could still see a sunset and a sunrise and I was happy with that! 


What I had not realised was just how brilliant the weekend we had chosen was. We arrived on the first day you could not climb Uluru. The atmosphere was amazing and I am in full support of the closure. It is mad in my eyes that people even need to be told not to climb such a Sacred beautiful piece and I am thrilled for the ban. Well done Australia. 


We arrived just after lunch time where you are met outside by free transfers which will take you straight to the resort. Being backpackers and given our time restraint we decided to stay in Ayers Rock Resort... but the hostel part. Don’t be put off, the hostel, or as they call it the ‘Lodge’ is very upmarket - it has its own viewing platform of Uluru and Kata Tjuta as well as a (clean!!) pool and lounge area and three eating restaurants to choose from, catering for all budgets. 


As it was 34 degrees upon arrival and our room wasn’t ready till 3pm we used the afternoon to sunbathe and relax. We had pre-booked on to AAT Kings Sunset for that evening so showered at 5pm and got ready to be blown away. 


The tour is brilliant; you arrive at your very own viewing area where you are served a choice of Sparkling, white or red wine and beer. They also have soft drinks for children and anyone who doesn’t want alcohol as well as a ‘snack table’ which held some delicious treats. 

I thoroughly recommend booking a sunset tour as only tour operators are allowed to the viewing deck for sunset and the way the shadows on Uluru are constantly changing as the sun goes down is remarkable. It’s truly beautiful. 


There is a choice to upgrade and go for a bush bbq after but both being non meat eaters we went back to our lodge where we enjoyed a delightful salad bar buffet. 

We were also opting for an early night as we had to depart at 4:20am the next morning for the once in the life time opportunity to visit the Field of Light exhibition before watching the sunrise over Uluru. 


The Field of Light is an art work designed by Bruce Munro. Originally it was only going to be open for another month or so but they have now decided to keep it until 31 December 2020. 

Although I recommend wrapping up warm before even contemplating visiting before sunrise, if you are there in the next year this exhibition is well worth viewing. I haven’t seen anything quite like it and it was very peaceful. As the sun comes up,  the trees in the background behind the lights offer a wonderful backdrop for photographs. 


As daytime arrives, the lights disappear and you get to enjoy sunrise whilst overlooking Uluru with a hot chocolate or coffee and biscuits. If you can only budget one tour I think sunrise would win for me but I would definitely do both again. 


Due to time restrains and the fact that the buses do not begin until 10:30am we did not have time for a walk around the base which I will return one day to do as I would like to have a closer look at the rock as well as the famous artwork carved into it. 


However, whilst Sophie had a nap I did decide to walk around the art museums and town centre which I loved. I watched a local artist at work and got to see some of the weirdly wonderful creatures that can be found here. 


I have now been to all states in Australia except Tasmania and whilst I have not seen everything this wonderful country has to offer, I have certainly seen a lot and I can hands down say Uluru is the most impressive and it is the place I’m most eager to return too. I felt very at peace and calm. 



Next time I plan to go for around 5 days which will allow me to explore Kata Tjuta more as well as Kings Canyon which is not situated too far away. 


Now roll on next weekend - Jervis Bay here we come! 

All the love, A x

32 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page